Home > Camping, Geeky, Hiking, Outdoorsy, TGO, Ultralight > TGO Challenge: The Inevitable Gear List

TGO Challenge: The Inevitable Gear List

Objects in pack may be larger than they appear

Enough people have requested a copy of my gear list that I have decided to bow to public* pressure and just post the thing. Spreadsheets are as natural an environment to me as centre court at Wimbledon is to a herring, so please excuse any oddities of formatting and the like.

You can find the gear spreadsheet if you peek behind this convenient metaphorical curtain.

Examinations of what worked, what didn’t and why I thought it a good idea to carry the blasted thing in the first place to follow.

*Thanks to both of you 😉

  1. sebwhyte
    May 30, 2011 at 10:29

    How did the rain skirt do? Would you have climbed more hills with waterproof trousers?

    It’s an impressive kit list. You seem to have avoided the temptation to spend the weight saved on a decent camera, which is beyond me.

  2. May 30, 2011 at 10:42

    The rain skirt (they call it a “wrap” but frankly they’re fooling nobody) worked very well, but naturally the conditions high up would have defeated it. Would I have climbed more hills if I’d been wearing waterproof trousers? No, I’d have climbed more hills were I not inherently lazy 😉

    I’m also a very negligent photographer. My good camera is an old 35mm film Yashica T5, so the closest I have moved to the digital age is noticing that my ‘phone has a modest camera function built-in. I love looking at the pics taken by those who enjoy the art and practice it with skill and enthusiasm, but generally I take very few photos and a good camera would be wasted on me.

  3. djp
    February 11, 2012 at 23:58

    Jon, I’m interested to know what your First Aid & Repair Kit consist of?

  4. February 13, 2012 at 14:36

    Apologies for the slow response, I’ve been in an information black hole near to Matlock for the weekend 🙂

    The first aid and repair kits were fairly basic and involved a degree of overlap. Bear in mind that this was tailored specifically for the TGO Challenge and does not necessarily reflect what I would take for a different walk. The TGO does involve quite wild and fairly remote areas, but there is generally a fair chance of not being too far from a road (or at least a Land Rover track), other Challengers and hikers are likely to be in the area, the rules require checking in on a schedule and experience has shown that the signal issues with mobile ‘phones have improved greatly recently, although it does still vary depending on your network. With that in mind the purpose of my repair and first aid kits was to put me in good enough shape to either get out to a source of aid or else to hole up somewhere after making a call for help, should I not be able to move very far. In one sense all of my kit was effectively emergency gear and I worked hard to strike a balance between light weight (enabling me to carry all my gear even if injured and so not have to abandon anything potentially important) and effective.

    Working largely from memory here, but the first aid kit consisted of blister treatment (mostly Compeed and a patch of moleskin), sticking plasters, antihistamines, pain killers, antiseptic soap, Vaseline and tweezers (very strong and precise ones, for splinters and ticks). Repair kit had a strong synthetic thread and needles, cable ties, sticky tape (McNett “Tenacious Tape”), thin cord, safety pins, a button, glue, cord-lock and a spare guy-rope adjuster (not strictly necessary since I can tie an adjustable hitch, but handy). Clearly these items could not, by themselves, deal with heavy bleeding, a broken limb or the complete failure of a rucksack strap. The plan in such cases was to supplement the kit with other standard items I was carrying: bandanna, belt, guy ropes, foam mat, collapsible hiking pole and so forth. My knowledge and ability in the fields of medicine and repair work only go so far, so I decided that immediate patching-up would be the sensible aim, avoiding making the problem worse and enabling me to reach better facilities.

    I don’t doubt that the kits can be improved and I certainly only go so far in terms of cutting back on them in order to save weight. That said, I’ve seen people carrying pliers and full splints on hikes before now, with little clear idea what they might ever do with them, so it’s easily possible to go too far the other way.

    • djp
      February 13, 2012 at 17:31

      Thanks Jon, very informative. What sort of glue do you carry by the way?

  5. February 13, 2012 at 17:37

    I think I had a small tube of Seam Grip on the TGO, possibly super glue as well but I have a feeling I decided to leave that behind and trust to a combination of Seam Grip, tape and sewing to handle most things.

  1. May 30, 2011 at 10:21

Leave a Reply

