Radar Love

Slightly relevant picture from weatheronline.co.uk

It has not been the best of weekends for laundry. Until the temperature drops enough to warrant turning on the central heating the house is not a great drying environment, but Manchester is rarely a fine spot for hanging out your great and smalls on the line. Catching up on some overdue washing, it looked as though everything would be as likely to come in wet from rain as it would remain wet if hung indoors.

The casual nature of modern technology struck me again in the early evening (and if you’ve ever been struck in the early evening you’ll know what a shock that can be) as I wandered out to the garden to cast a dubious eye at the heavens. I’d been lucky, very lucky, that the day had stayed dry, but another hour would be really helpful… or I could skip the chance and take the now almost dry laundry inside to hang. Considering my firm belief that it was about to rain every time I’d looked outside since about ten in the morning I wouldn’t have wagered heavily on my predictive abilities… then I remembered that these days I have a mobile ‘phone. Whipping out the little time-waster I punched up the weather map app (weather m’app?) and watched as it rolled a series of animated radar images across a virtual Manchester. Three minutes later I was inside, putting the clothes on the rack to air. Five minutes after that the heavens opened.

The secret that helped to fight the Luftwaffe, right there in my pocket, available at a moment’s notice. Helping me to do the laundry.

  1. September 16, 2011 at 01:46

    I discovered professor elemental from your site and for that I am truly grateful

  2. September 16, 2011 at 10:17

    Thank you 🙂 You’ve probably spotted that his new album came out this week, too. Any music that can put a smile on a dark day gets my vote; and the Prof does just that.

  3. October 30, 2011 at 10:09

    I plan all my day walks in my local area off the radar maps. Far better than the Met office forecast.
    “The secret that helped to fight the Luftwaffe, right there in my pocket, available at a moment’s notice. Helping me to do the laundry.” Very good!

    • October 31, 2011 at 16:06

      That sounds like a much more enjoyable use of the things than my laundry planning.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

