Pages from History

Buck

 

Over on Twitter, to help relieve the endless torrents of foulness gushing from Westminster and the White House, I’ve been posting pictures of what I called #OverlookedRPG products. Usually they are complete games, occasionally a supplement (I’m keeping the rules for inclusion somewhat fluid), but always something I either own or used to own and which I feel never quite achieved the success it deserved.

It’s been interesting to see how people react to the tweets. For some it’s a competition to see if I include something they’ve not heard of (it’s really not a competition; I’m making no claims to have a particularly obscure or rare collection); others express delight at seeing a favourite of theirs included after years of thinking they were the only one ever to buy a copy; and many retweet or favourite a game they’ve enjoyed. Unsurprisingly, the more obscure games, lacking that warm feeling of nostalgia, tend to receive the fewest clicks.

In all cases I’ve tried to include a link to further information and, where applicable, to somewhere you can still buy a copy (or a PDF, as is increasingly common). Sadly, licensing means that Buck Rogers (above) can only be found on the secondhand market and is unlikely to be reprinted, a pity as it’s a game with a lot going for it.

Partly to aid my fragmented memory and avoid repetition, I experimented with Storify and put all of the tweets so far in one place. You can find them here and I shall continue to add new ones after they’ve appeared on Twitter.

Have a wander down the dusty halls of gaming history and see what takes your fancy. There’s no reason for these games to be unjustly overlooked forever.

  1. Robert
    March 14, 2017 at 04:51

    Many thanks. It has been a good series. You talked me into Monsters! Monsters! and repurchasing Diana Warrior Princess and Elvis the Legendary Tours during the GM’s day sale over at DriveThru. Hellas is down for the next time the budget clears up. I particularly like Khepra’s Atlantis series and have been considering picking up Hellas.

    • March 14, 2017 at 07:12

      I’m delighted that it’s been of interest. Too many games miss their moment or are quickly forgotten, and I don’t see why they should be regarded as less worthwhile than something new and unproven.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

